I was never told on how to blow dry my hair the proper way not until I started to fly. I started to learn to blow dry since high school and nobody told me that most of what I was doing were totally wrong. Growing up watching my mom blow dry was enough for me to try. That’s what I’ve thought. So I’m going to share a few tips on the proper way of blow drying hair. Mind you I live in a tropical country where there’s humid weather – and I do fly for a living. Being up on air with dry cabin air makes skin and thus the hair dry.

Some tips:

1. Towel dry your hair first before blow drying. Just enough to stop dripping. Never rub vigorously. That would just make your hair frizzy and would cause split ends. I wrap my hair with towel and then rub my hair in gentle circular motions just so the towel to absorb excess water.

2. Do not use fine tooth combs. Your fingers are the best tools for untangling wet hair. Fine combs would just break your hair. Wet hair is most fragile when it’s wet.

3. So when you alread have damp hair, part your hair into sections. You can have atleast four to six sections, depending on how thick is your hair. Use hair clamps, not elastics to part it. Remember the thicker the section that you’ve parted, the longer it will dry.

4. Start to blow dry from top to the roots. Use a soft bristled round brush if you want to achieve a semi straight hair. Or a paddle brush for a sleeker look. Never blow dry going your way up. It will just make your hair frizz. And do not focus the dryer on a spot for too long. It will just burn your hair.

5.¬† Leave your hair a little damp. Don’t over blow dry it. Just leave some moisture so it doesn’t really make your hair dry. After blow drying, use some moisturizing or anti-frizz serum to lock in moisture. Brush your hair gently and don’t forget to use your fingers to detangle after blow drying.

Additional tips:

  • Never blow dry your hair when it is dripping wet, otherwise, you’ll just be boiling your hair. Towel off first.
  • Always blow dry in a downwards motion and in one direction. This will help prevent frizz and split ends.
  • If you can, try not to blow dry more than three times a week. When you can afford to let your hair air dry, do so. If it’s on the weekend when you’ve got free time, or when you don’t have to be anywhere, simply comb through your wet hair gently and let it dry by itself.
  • If your hair is very short, you might get off with just a towel dry, or a two minute blow dry.
  • Trim your hair every 6-8 weeks to ward off split ends.

What I’ve been using:

T3 Tourmaline Overnight Professional Ionic Ceramic Hair Dryer for Travel Dual Voltage

T3 Tourmaline Overnight Professional Ionic Ceramic Hair Dryer for Travel Dual Voltage

This baby never left my luggage since day one.



